On Tuesday, Oct. 31, the Big 10 Conference announced their individual cross country awards.

The Big Ten recognized honored 14 athletes with the Sportsmanship Award. Current member of the University of Iowa cross country team and Dallas Center-Grimes alum, Madison Waymire, was among the honorees.

Those students chosen for the award have distinguished themselves through good sportsmanship and ethical behavior. They must also be in good academic standing and demonstrate good citizenship outside of the athletic setting.

The Big Ten Athlete of the Year will be announced the Tuesday following NCAA Championships. The Championships will be held in Louisville, Ky. on Nov. 18.

The entire list of athletes who received the sportsmanship award can be found at: http://www.bigten.org/sports/w-xctrack/spec-rel/103117aaa.html.